Balaam’s Curse

Balaam’s Curse
$13.08eBook: $3.99
Series: The Stones of Gilgal, Book 1
Genres: Biblical, Fiction, Historical
Publisher: Mountain View Press
Publication Year: 2016
ASIN: 1632323710
ISBN: 9781632323712

Yahweh is on the move, and the powers of darkness are determined to stop him. After 40 years wandering in the wilderness, the Israelites are finally ready to cross the Jordan River and claim the Promised Land. While they celebrate acquisition of land on the east bank of the Jordan, the surrounding kingdoms of Moab and Midian summon Balaam from Babylonia. The evil prophet gathers a coalition of five Midianite kings and the seductive Princess Cozbi to prevent the crossing that would change the world. The mutiny, plague, and war unleashed by his plan plunges a young generation of Israelites into a vortex of violence and upheaval beyond anything they could have imagined.

Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Book

Unfathomable evil grips the ancient homeland of the Children of Israel. When Yahweh, Most High God, led his people out of slavery in Egypt to confront it, they failed miserably and spent the next forty years wandering homeless in the desert. Now they are ready to try again. But before they can cross the Jordan River to enter the Promised Land, the prophet Balaam is summoned from Babylon to stop them. Joining forces with supernatural powers, he unleashes a plot so twisted that the name of Balaam is used as a synonym for seductive evil a thousand years later in the Book of Revelation.

Aided by the ruthlessly ambitious Princess Cozbi, the prophet gathers a coalition of five Midianite kings who will stop at nothing to defeat Israel and prevent a crossing that will change the world. BALAAM’S CURSE, book one of THE STONES OF GILGAL saga is an epic telling of the resulting deception, revolt, plague, and war. Familiar biblical characters–Moses, Caleb, Joshua–stride through this tale of mayhem and miracles. But this is the coming-of-age story of the next generation, young people nurtured in a simple wilderness life who suddenly find themselves caught in a vortex of violence and upheaval beyond anything they could have imagined.

About the Author
C.L. Smith

C. L. Smith, retired junior high school English and history teacher, former missionary, and life-time Bible student, has been captivating audiences around the world for years with the timeless thrill of biblical tales. For the past 25 years the author has been weaving her lifetime love of learning and people into the fabric of obscure ancient texts from the books of Numbers, Joshua, and Judges. She calls the resulting tapestry of rich scenes, colorful characters, and exciting episodes The STONES OF GILGAL saga, an inspirational six-part series of biblical novels set in the time of Joshua.

Other Books in "The Stones of Gilgal"
Look Inside